First Major GOP Senator Breaks Rank – Will Not Support Ted Cruz & Co. On Jan. 6 - Allen West News
Connect with us


First Major GOP Senator Breaks Rank – Will Not Support Ted Cruz & Co. On Jan. 6

Hours after Sen. Ted Cruz and ten other Republican Senators announced they would contest the Electoral College certification, Alaska Senator Lisa Murkowski said she will vote to affirm the results of the presidential election.

The Alaska Senator encouraged fellow lawmakers to not challenge the certification and said that there is no credible evidence to show that Joe Biden’s win was not legitimate.

From Washington Examiner:

“I will vote to affirm the 2020 presidential election,” Murkowski said. “The courts and state legislatures have all honored their duty to hear legal allegations and have found nothing to warrant overturning the results.”

“I urge my colleagues from both parties to recognize this and to join me in maintaining confidence in the Electoral College and our elections so that we ensure we have the continued trust of the American people,” she added.

Earlier on Saturday, Republican Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas announced that he and a group of GOP senators and senators-elect would be challenging the Electoral College certification on Wednesday and said in a statement that “voter fraud has posed a persistent challenge in our elections, although its breadth and scope are disputed.”

Those who announced their support for Cruz’s initiative are Ron Johnson of Missouri, James Lankford of Oklahoma, Steve Daines of Montana, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, and Mike Braun of Indiana. Sens.-elect Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, Roger Marshall of Kansas, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee, and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama also signed on to the statement.

The group is going against the wishes of Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, who has acknowledged Biden’s win and encouraged lawmakers not to challenge the results of the presidential election.

The Republican group is calling for an “electoral commission” to carry out a 10-day emergency audit of results in states that are contested by Trump and his allies.